T-1 AGAIN! Gotta Love the Muslim Calendar

‘Twas the night before Ramadan…again! Oh the lunar calendar, how we love thinking Ramadan starts tomorrow when it really starts the next day.  There was no moon yesterday, so tomorrow will be the first day of Ramadan.  Ramadan Mubarak!

I do know people who started fasting today though.  I have never been comfortable with people declaring Ramadan and Eid on different days.  We are all Muslim; we should be celebrating on the same day.  Of course people aren’t going to agree, and I’m not judging anyone for following one moon-sighting method or another, but it just doesn’t feel right when the Muslim Ummah is divided between two days.  For the first day of Ramadan it’s a little awkward because you can go to someone’s house and have some people fasting and others eating. It’s harder on Eid though.  Eid is a time for celebrating and spending time with family and friends, and part of the joy of a worldwide Muslim celebration is gone when not everyone is celebrating on the same day.  I mean there isn’t really a solution for it, but it’s just one of those things that bothers me.

However once we get past the awkward Ramadan 1st/Shaban 30th day, it’s nice that this is a month where every Muslim in the world is united in fast.  I just feel closer to other Muslims during Ramadan.  Even if I’m just at the store and I see another Hijabi, I smile more than I would any other time of the year because even if we lead completely different lives, we both are experiencing the struggles and benefits of Ramadan.  It’s like we’re both part of a secret club…The Worldwide Secret Fasting Club!

I was nervous yesterday, but today I feel better.  Part of it may have been that I had dinner with my cousins at a relative’s house, so the “Ramadan Spirit” was already in the air.  I can’t wait to start this special month (well, it’s past Maghrib, so I guess it already started).  Worlwide Secret Fasting Club FTW!

…I’m just not looking forward to waking up in a couple hours for Suhoor 😦

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

1st Night

White Rice, Tomato Salan, and Chicken made my my aunt 🙂 Bring on the Indian food!

Leave a Reply

