Ramadan Log DAY 2: God’s Pep Talk

It’s always the second day that’s the most difficult.  Yet, as difficult as the long summer fasts are, I’m so thankful I didn’t have to go to school or work today.  When Ramadan was during the school year, I used to like having the school day as a distraction from fasting, but I don’t know if I could do it today.  College has come with a lot more real, attention-required studying than middle school ever had.  Alhamdulillah, I had the luxury to spend the day in my room, editing videos (one of my hobbies) and reading Qur’an.  Reason #3 why you should read Qur’an: it doesn’t require much effort.  When it gets to be those last couple hours of fasting and you’re so drained of energy that you don’t even want to walk around anymore, just read Qur’an.  I’m told there is more reward for reading Qur’an during those moments before Maghrib anyway.

On the topic of my Qur’an goals, I made it to the 16th juz today!  Half of the Qur’an: COMPLETE! Now to finish the second half…

As for the English Qur’an, I read all of Surah Al-Nahl (Surah 16, translated as “The Bee”).  There was a lot of good info in there!  I found so many ayahs that I wanted to quote for today, but the last section of surah definitely wins for the most inspiring for me.  It’s like a pep talk for Muslims, especially American Muslims today:

“Invite (all) to the Way of your Lord with wisdom and holy teaching, and reason with them by ways that are the best and most gracious: Truly, your Lord knows best, (those) who have strayed from His Path, and (those) who receive guidance.

And if you punish them, then no worse than that they punish you: But if you show patience that is really the best for those who are patient.

And be patient because your patience is only from God; And do not feel sad over them: And do not be in distress yourself because of their (evil) plots.

Truly Allah is with those who guard themselves, and those who do good.” (16: 125-128)

People verbally attack Muslims all the time.  I’m not gonna lie, it hurts most of the time.  People talking about my religion as if they know everything about it, and associating Muslims with crimes so terrible that it makes me sick.  I know other people feel this too, but this section of the Qur’an is such a spirit lifter.  People are going to attack us, but we have to keep our cool.  Never attack someone more than they have attacked you, and above all, remain patient.  Those people who keep attacking Muslims will have no grounds for attack when they see how patient, kind, and strong we are.

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

Day 2

Strawberries and Chocolate Chip Cookie for Iftar (courtesy of the store :P) and Quesadillas made by my mom 🙂

Reasons#2 why you should fast (Reason #1 being that it is mandated by God): Food tastes so good at the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

