Ramadan Log DAY 4: Embracing the Outside

Alhamdulillah, today was a really good day.  I finally emerged from my hermit-like state and embraced the outside world.  And by outside world, I mean the mall and the grocery store.  I was nervous about going out, with it being so hot outside and not being able to drink any water, but I actually felt really good.  Today was probably my best day, and I’m pretty sure it was because I went outside.  It just gave me so much energy.

You know how they say to never go to the grocery store when you’re hungry because you’ll want to buy everything? Surprisingly, that didn’t really happen to me.  I mean I had the weirdest cravings ever, but I didn’t go crazy and pick up every sweet sounding thing I found.  I was trying to look for things to eat for suhoor, because for the past 4 days I’ve just been winging it every morning.  Last year I had a solid plan: 3 dates, blueberry greek yogurt, and a bottle of water.  After realizing how much sugar there was in my greek yogurt, I’ve been trying to look for something a bit healthier, but haven’t been able to figure anything out yet.  I’m going to try plain greek yogurt with blueberry fruit preserves, so we’ll see how that goes.

You know what I’ve been noticing as I’m reading the Qur’an every day? I’m getting better and faster at reading Arabic.  I’m nowhere near fluent in Arabic, but I know how to read it and can pick out maybe a couple words in every ayah, but this reading every day has made me able to read with such fluidity that I didn’t think I would ever have.  Reason #4 to read Qur’an: It improves your pronunciation and comfort with reading a foreign language (that is if you aren’t already fluent in Arabic).

Today’s set of English ayahs had a lot of stories which I really enjoyed.  I read a really interesting story about Musa (Moses) in Surah Kahf (Surah 18, translated as “The Cave”).  He was following an old man who kept doing really strange things, like purposely creating a hole in a boat, killing a random kid, and repairing a wall without asking for any pay.  At the time, all of these things seemed crazy, but at the end of the story, the man explained that each thing he did had a very good, understandable reason.  It just goes to show that not everything is as it appears to be.  When we see someone doing something that we don’t understand, we always have to remember that there could be a very legitimate reason and we are in no position to judge another person’s actions.

I also read Surah Maryam (Surah 19) which of course told the story of Maryam (Mary) and the birth of Isa (Jesus).  I really liked the ayahs at the end of the surah.  Ayahs 92-95 say, “For it is not befitting for the Majesty of (God) the Most Gracious that He should father a son.  (There is) not one being in the heavens and the earth that will not come to the Most Gracious as (His) servant.  Verily, He takes an account of them (all), and has numbered them exactly.  And everyone of them will come individually to Him on the Day of Judgement.”  This ayah puts all human beings on the same playing field.  At the end of the day, we are all God’s servants.  No one has any advantage over another in obtaining God’s favor.  In Islam, we believe that Isa was just another human being, like Muhammad (S) and Musa and me and you.  We are all responsible for our actions and will all be held accountable for everything we do in this life.

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

Day 4

A Banana with Nutella, dried mango pieces, and chocolate milk (all from my lovely grocery trip :))

Day 4.1

For dinner, spinach stuffed pizza from a local restaurant. YUM. (Notice the end of the pizza is gone.  I was too excited and had to have a bite before taking the picture :P)

Leave a Reply

