Ramadan Log DAY 6: Brotherhood of Prophets

I have become a cooking machine! Well, sort of.  Yesterday I made salad and chili, and today I made one of my favorite Ramadan iftar foods of all time: bhajiya! I really don’t know how to translate it into English.  It’s fried….something.  Sometimes it has potato or onions in it.  The point is that it’s fried deliciousness and I learned how to make it today from my grandma. 🙂 (Hey, if anyone knows how to explain to a non-Indian person what Bhajiya is, leave me a comment!  I’ve been trying to figure this out for years and never could explain it properly.)

I feel like I had a really good day today, Alhamdulillah, but unfortunately I think part of the reason why I feel that way is because I totally broke my TV rule and watched a full hour show today.  It was a special episode of a show that I knew was going to eventually air and was really excited to watch, and I had hoped to be able to wait until after Ramadan to watch it, but I was just too eager and figured that one show wouldn’t hurt.  It didn’t get in the way of my praying or Qur’an reading, and it was super funny and entertaining, but I don’t like that I’m basing my good day off of the fact that I got to watch a show.  It’s something that should change.

On a completely different note, this Qur’an reading I’ve been doing has definitely been getting me through the fasting really well.  Instead of focusing all of my attention on the fasting, I’m paying a lot more attention to how far I’m getting in the Qur’an and anticipating what surahs I’ll be reading each day.  It’s a good feeling to look at the Qur’an and clearly see more pages that I already read than what I still need to read.  I’m making progress!  Today I read nearly all of Surah Al-Anbiyaa (Surah 21, “The Prophets”) in English.  It had a lot of quick little stories about previous prophets before Muhammad (S).  After a section describing a bunch of different prophets and their successes, ayah 92 says “Surely, this brotherhood of yours is a single brotherhood (of prophets) and I am your Lord and Cherisher: Therefore worship Me (and no other).”  At this ayah, I imagined reading the surah from the Prophet Muhammad’s (S) perspective.  My Qur’an says this surah was revealed during the Meccan period, so in the earlier period of Muhammad (S) being a prophet.  So much of the Qur’an stresses that there are disbelievers who would mock him, so I’m sure the Prophet (S) felt worried about having such a huge, difficult responsibility.  I have no idea what the circumstances were exactly when he received this ayah, but I can just imagine the comfort he would have found hearing all of these amazing stories about prophets who came before him and succeeding at the job he has been given to do.  It must have been very uplifting to be included in the brotherhood of such great men.  I didn’t really learn any new information with this ayah, but it was just nice to read and think about.  It humanized Prophet Muhammad’s (S) experience.

Reason #5 to read Qur’an: If you read the Qur’an from the Prophet’s (S) perspective, it helps you understand his experience as Islam’s final prophet in a whole new way.

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

Day 6

Honeydew and Bhajiya made by me!

Leave a Reply

