Ramadan Log DAY 7: TV Kills My Brain

TV is such a time-sucker.  I just gave up today and watched a show (which was the season finale of a show I’ve been following for a while.  I originally planned on having as my only TV break for the entire month and look how that turned out…), part of a movie, and another show in the evening.  Except for the first show, it wasn’t even anything I had planned on watching.  After my first show I was just flipping channels and found a movie that I really liked as a kid and was watching that, and then tonight I was showing my sister something on youtube and we just ended up watching an episode of Full House together.  I almost missed Duhr this afternoon and now I’m posting this much later than I wanted to all because of my inability to tear myself away from the TV.

ANYWAY, alhamdulillah I didn’t miss Duhr, nor any of my other prayers.  If I’m getting anything out of this month, it is that I’m really getting into the habit of praying on time.  I’ve always struggled with making my prayers on time, and alhamdulillah I haven’t missed any prayers so far this Ramadan.  InshaAllah I can make it the whole month without praying any prayers late! I must confess, I don’t think I’ve ever gone an entire month praying without missing a single prayer.  I know, it’s really bad. It’s something I’m really working on this month.

Today I was cooking again! It was my dad’s birthday, so my mom and I made a bunch of foods he likes for iftar and dinner.  You might think cooking would be difficult when I’m fasting, but I actually really like it.  It passes the time and gives me something to look forward to at iftar.  Doing any kind of project is great for getting you through fasting.  Whether it be planning a cooking project or marking which ayahs I’m going to read during the day or deciding to work on some new blog piece, having a plan for the day really helps get my mind of the hunger and gives me something productive to do instead of watching TV or videos.

I found a short and sweet ayah today.  It is the very end of the very last ayah (78) in Surah 22, Al-Hajj (or “The Pilgrimage).  It says, “So keep up the prayer, give the prescribed alms, and seek refuge in God: He is your protector – an excellent protector and an excellent helper.”  It is this ayah that helps me sleep at night.  For every reason to be scared, to be told in the Qur’an that God is my protector is so relieving.  The world can be a really scary place, but knowing that there is someone outside of it all, watching over me, keeping track of my life, knowing me inside and out, and keeping me safe is what keeps me from growing crazy with fear and hate.  I don’t know what I would do without that assurance that He is taking care of me, my family, and my friends.

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

Day 7

For iftar, Honeydew, Chocolate Milk, and Bakers Square French Silk Pie

Day 7.1  Day 7.2

For dinner, Shin Ramyun (The best Ramen ever! At least as far as I know…) and Homemade Blueberry Muffins with Homemade Whipped Cream made by me 🙂

Leave a Reply

