Ramadan Log DAY 10: Little Deeds

Today was one of those days where I just felt like doing absolutely nothing.  I sat in my room editing videos most of the day and sleeping.  It is the tenth day, so we are well into the month.  It is around this time when Ramadan starts to weigh down on us.  It’s when we start to get tired of fasting and begin to lose the enthusiasm to complete our Ramadan goals.  After ten days of being overly excited and motivated to read Qur’an, study the English, and post daily on this blog, I’m feeling the excitement fading.

And then I was in my grandma’s room, getting something, and I noticed that her rug was crooked and folded on itself.  Her rug is almost always messed up like that since she walks on it all the time and has difficulty bending over to fix it whenever it gets messed up, so when I passed by it today, it didn’t look out of the ordinary.  However, seconds after I passed by it and was about to go back to my own room, I had to stop myself and wonder what was stopping me from straightening it out.  I pass by that rug all the time, sometimes contributing to it’s messiness, and never do anything to fix it.  Yet here I was, doing barely anything morally productive with my day and I saw a sliver of opportunity to change that.  So I walked back, bent down, and took maybe ten seconds out of my day to fix her rug.

It’s not a lot, but this small deed and others like it make the world a slightly better place when done.  If we all took those moments where we don’t feel as motivated to do anything really huge and do all of the little deeds we notice need to be done, we would be improving our own spiritual state as well as the state of the world we live in.  Little deeds often go overlooked, but they are the easiest ways to make a positive change.

Today’s ayah is also from Surah Shu’ara’.  Ayahs 205-207 talk about the disbelievers: “Do you see? (Even) if We let them enjoy (this life) for a few years, and still at the end, there will come to them (the punishment) that they were promised! It will not help them that they enjoyed (this life)!” This ayah reminds me of the decisions every person has to deal with at some point or another: whether it is better to do what is right or what is easy.  If we do what is easy, we will have happiness or relief for a little bit, but that moment of relief won’t mean anything in the grande scheme of things where our afterlife is concerned.  If we take this life to enjoy ourselves rather than do what we are commanded to do, we are sacrificing the eternal enjoyment of the hereafter.  Even at the worldly level, if we try to enjoy moments that we really shouldn’t (like going behind our parents back to do things they wouldn’t allow), we could be sacrificing our future well-being.  We always need that reminder to not be so focused on enjoyment and to think ahead at what will benefit us in the long run.

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

IMG_2025

Pearl Couscous made by me, Dried Mango, and Chocolate Wafers

Leave a Reply

