Ramadan Log DAY 14: Just Keep Swimming

I’m going to be completely honest: I’m losing my momentum.  This happened last year and the year before too.  By the middle of the month, my enthusiasm just slowly dies, only to be re-energized in the last ten days of Ramadan.  I knew it was coming, and based on my last few blog posts you readers have also probably been noticing.  Don’t worry, I still love being a Muslim 😛 and I’m still reading my Qur’an, but outside of that I’m just feeling tired of being so excited and enthusiastic about fasting and iftars and spirituality.  At times like these, I just have to take Dory’s advice and “Just keep swimming…”  This blog is helping though.  If I didn’t have this constant expectation to have something to share with you all at the end of the day, I wouldn’t have made as much of an effort to keep up with my goals.  It really helps to have others witness your journey towards a goal, and even though most of you are silent readers, the fact that you’re reading at all means a lot.

Like a good parent should, my mom noticed my lack of enthusiasm and insisted I get out of the house today.  Alhamdulillah, I was able to spend most of the day volunteering at my local Da’wah center.  It was actually a great way to spend the day.  I helped organize brochures and did some cleaning and organizing of books.  It felt good to be productive as well as help out an institution in need.  I want to volunteer more this Ramadan.  It is such a good way to spend a fasting day, in so many ways.

In my Qur’an reading, I finally got to the English translation of Surah Yasin today! People have always given me the impression that Surah Yasin (Surah 36) is a super important surah and I never understood why.  Muslims always strive to memorize Surah Yasin, they suggest reading it after a person dies, or when you’re in some kind of distress, and just talk about it as if it is some kind of ultra-special surah.  Even after reading the entire translation, I’m still unsure why it is so highly regarded above the other surahs, but I did find an ayah that I really liked at the end of it.  Basically the end of the surah, through a series of rhetorical questions, describes a bunch of God’s miracles, and ayahs 77-79 use a kind of logical argument that I just love reading, in any form of literature.

“Does man not see that it is We Who created him from (a clot in the) sperm-ovary drop?  Yet see! He (makes himself) an open enemy!

And he puts forth comparisons for Us, and forgets his own (true origin) of creation: (And) he says: ‘Who can give life to the bones after they have become rotten and turned to dust?’

Say: He will give them life, (the One) Who created them for the first time!”

Throughout the Qur’an, I have seen multiple examples of disbelievers saying things along the lines of “How can God bring us back to life after we die?” and this ayah gives the response that it is God who gave us life in the first place.  That same God can easily bring us back to life after we die.  I hadn’t seen the response to this often brought up question, and the irony and logic of it just makes me love it.

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

Day 14

One of the sisters at the mosque made Spanish Rice, Dill Rice, Chicken, and Kebab.  Sooo good, mashaAllah 🙂

One thought on “Ramadan Log DAY 14: Just Keep Swimming

  1. Trancify says:

    Marathon runners say the same thing. There comes a point in the race where your head just isn’t in it anymore. It is as much an endurance test of your mind as it is of your body.

Leave a Reply

