Ramadan Log DAY 17: “Lean In”

If ten-year-old me could see me now, she would be completely shocked at how I spent my day.  I willingly spent a good portion of my day cleaning my room and listening to a lecture on youtube about Islam and women.  Today I consider that a good day.  Back in the day, that would have been torture.  Growing up is such a magical thing.

That lecture was so good though.  My mom had been telling me for weeks that I should watch it, and my room was in desperate need of cleaning, so I killed two birds with one stone and listened to the lecture while tidying the mess of my room (ironically appropriate considering I’m usually jamming to some K-pop while cleaning).  It was given was Anse Tamara Gray, who if you don’t know her is an amazingly knowledgeable Muslima.  It is called “Lean In: Our Feminist Manifesto” and is about feminism in Islam.  It can basically be divided into three parts: She begins by talking about the history of feminism and how Muslims were (and still are) affected by it, then gives some words about Hijab (which was my favorite part), and ends by addressing the male audience.  The entire thing is so well-done and gives a lot of really good messages.  I recommend everyone, Muslim or not, boy or girl, to watch it.  You can watch it here. The whole thing is about 40 minutes long.  The feminism history part begins at 2:15, the Hijab part begins at 17:05, and the address to men begins at 24:46.  I encourage everyone to watch the whole thing, but if you don’t have 40 minutes to spare, at least watch part of it.  (And I beg all of my male readers to listen to the last bit.  Please.  I think that may have been the most useful part of the whole lecture.)

I want to share my favorite moment from it.  During the Hijab portion, she gives the reason why women wear Hijab: “Allah himself has made plain the reasoning for Hijab: That we may be known.  Like a sports team, we recognize each other. Like an ethnic background, we feel comfortable with each other.  Like a flag held high in the field of battle, we bravely go out each day in every country of the world, representing our Prophet, sallalahu alayhi wassalam, representing our religion, representing our men who too often blend into the background, representing our hurting women who need our activism, representing any woman of any faith who does not know how to show her conviction.  We wear the scarf that we might be known.”  I love this because she mentions the parts of Hijab that I love the most but never knew how to put into words.  (And if haven’t guessed yet, yes I do wear Hijab :))

Now for my miracle that happened today. I was reading my English translation of the Qur’an, in Surah Ash-Shu’ra (Surah 42, translated as “Consultation”), looking for an ayah to quote and I came across ayah 28, which reads: “And He is the One Who sends down the rain after (men) have despaired and given up any hope, and scatters His Mercy (far and wide).  And He is the protector, Worthy of all Praise.”  At the exact moment I read that, it started raining. Hard.  All of the sudden.  There may have been a few clouds out, but you could still see the sun through the rain and it just looked beautiful. (And this isn’t all in my head.  Without my prompting my sister later commented about how the sky was orange while it was raining)  All I could say was subhanAllah. Glory be to God.

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

Day 17

Toasted Sourdough bread with butter (I accidentally ate half of it before remembering to take a picture :P)

Day 17.1

For dinner, White Rice, Tomato Salan, and Potato Cutlets with Kheema Filling

Leave a Reply

