Ramadan Log DAY 22: Baby Steps

We’re getting close to the end here! Seriously, these last few days are going by so quickly.  I almost don’t want it to end.  I mean, it’ll be nice to finally have relief from the fasting as well as break the youtube/tv/music ban, but I’ll miss the month itself.  The motivation to be super-Muslim, to listen to Islamic lectures (because that is something I rarely ever want to do other times of the year), to make the time to read Qur’an every day after nearly every prayer… I know, I can do all of these things other times during the year, but I just don’t.  I don’t have that motivation.

Every year I adopt a bunch of habits during Ramadan, but I do get worn out by the end of the month.  I do keep some habits though.  For example, last year during Ramadan I started reading Qur’an every day after Fajr and at night before I went to bed, and for the rest of the year I continued to read Qur’an almost every night.  Last year I also tried to not listen to music during Ramadan (which completely failed by the end of the month), but after Ramadan, even though I continued to listen to music, I made a conscious effort to stay away from songs that clearly have a bad message to them.  We can’t take on super-Muslim status all of the sudden forever, but little changes every year still make a difference.  I’m nowhere near perfect, but I am a lot better at practicing Islam than I was five years ago.  That’s what life is supposed to be: Taking constant baby steps toward being a better person.

I got to the 25th juz in the Arabic Qur’an today!  Only five more and then I am finished!  I flipped ahead in my English Qur’an to get a sense of how far I am, and all of the rest of the surahs I have to read are less than two pages, which means I’m getting really close to the end.  InshaAllah I will be able to finish both this Ramadan.  Alhamdulillah, I’m really happy I kept up with this goal.  I was so afraid at the beginning of the month that I would lose my momentum and get so behind in the Qur’an, but God gave me the willpower and motivation to keep up with my goal.  Alhamdulillah.  I read the English of Surah Ar-Rahman (Surah 55, “The Most Gracious/Lord of Mercy”) today, and without even reading the title I knew I was at that surah.  That is the surah with the repeating ayah, “Then which of the miracles from your Lord will you both (man and jinn) renounce?”  It was a really cool surah to read and very poetic.  I loved the repetition of that sentence after every ayah and the flow of the message.  The whole surah, in a very organized way, tells of the signs, miracles, and examples of the power of God.  The surah as a whole is really powerful.  I wanted to share an ayah from it, but I couldn’t find one ayah alone to convey the poetry I found in this surah, so I just recommend reading the whole thing.  It’s not long at all; it was only a couple pages in my Qur’an.  It’s not my absolute favorite surah, but it’s definitely on that list of favorites.

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

day 22

Kheema Samosas.  I was too lazy today to take pictures of anything else.

I know this might not seem like a big deal, but I just have to say Subhanallah.  I took that picture with a CELL PHONE, and it came out clearer than pictures do on my digital camera.  Oh technology…

One thought on “Ramadan Log DAY 22: Baby Steps

  1. Aisha says:

    Looks delicious! May Allah bless you 🙂

Leave a Reply

