Ramadan Log DAY 26: Countdown to Eid

Counting down those last few days…looking back the month seemed so short.  I remember the night before the first day so clearly, as if it was only last week.  It’s just crazy how time flies like that.  When I think about all of the good, the iftars, the “Ramadan Mubaraks” and those moments where I feel so close to my religion that I can’t imagine doing anything else but praying and reading Qur’an, it seems like this month just flew by and the end is coming way too quickly.  Then when I think about the difficulties, the fasting, the exhausting suhoors, the struggle to wait to watch the newest K-pop video, I just can’t wait until Ramadan is over.  I guess there’s a blessing in that.  We have an entire month to relish the spirit, but it isn’t so long where the struggle gets in the way of the enjoyment.  While I am sad that this month where seemingly the entire Muslim ummah is united in fasting and ibadah is going to end soon, I am happy and proud of how much I got done this month.  Alhamdulillah, I am just unbelievably thankful that Allah gave me the patience and motivation to keep reading Qur’an as much as I did this month.  I’ve said it before, but I was totally convinced at the beginning of the month that I would lose the habit by the second week, but God gave me the will to keep up with it.  Alhamdulillah.  Thank you, Allah, so so much.

Since it is almost the end of the month, today was our Eid shopping day!  Alhamdulillah, we were able to find gifts for all of the cousins in just a couple hours.  Usually it takes much longer than that, but thankfully we were able to find the perfect gifts in just one store.  As I get older and older, I get more and more excited to see my younger cousins’ faces when they open our gifts.  It used to be about the excitement about opening my own gifts, but now maturity has given me joy in watching my other cousins receive gifts.  Growing up…it does things to you.

While in the store, I had such a fun time reliving my childhood while picking out the gifts for my cousins.  Seriously, toys were so much better when I was a kid.  I know that’s such a stereotypical old person thing to say, but it’s true!  Those Barbies came with way more cool clothes and accessories back then than they do today…

The end of the Qur’an is coming so close I can almost taste it! Today I got to the 28th juz in the Arabic Qur’an and the 29th in the English Qur’an.  My ayahs of the day are from Surah 74, Al-Muddaththir (“The One Wrapped Up”).  This is the one revealed after the Prophet received his first revelation ever.  He was so scared from the experience that he asked his wife to wrap him up with his cloak, and according to my Qur’an, that is when this surah was revealed (Also from where it gets it’s name).  This surah talks about the Day of Judgement and the Afterlife, and the ayahs I want to quote talk about the people who enter the Hellfire.  Ayahs 38-47 say:

“Every soul will be (held) into account for its deeds, except the companions of the right hand, (They will be) in the Gardens: They will question each other and (ask) of the sinners: ‘What led you into the Fire of Hell?’ They will say: ‘We were not from those who prayed; nor were we from those who fed the poor; And we used to speak idle-talk with those who spoke against Truth, and we used to reject the Day of Judgement, until there came upon us (the Hour) that is certain.'”

I know quite a few Muslims who don’t pray.  I myself could definitely be more on time with my prayer and learn to put prayer before other things.  All of us should read this ayah and realize just how important prayer is.  Based on this ayah, one of the reasons why some people will be sent to Hell is for not praying.  Even giving charity to the poor, which doesn’t seem like a big deal, is also one of the things that these people neglected which landed them in Hell.  These are just some of those things we have to do as Muslims, but a lot of us don’t make them a priority.  Give them importance.  They could be the very things that keeps us on the path to Heaven and away from the path to Hell.

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

Day 26

Banana Nut Muffin and Chocolate Covered Blueberries

Leave a Reply

