Ramadan Log DAY 27: Forgotten Goals

The anticipation for Eid grew even stronger today.  More presents were bought, henna was scheduled to be done, and party plans were made.  I can feel the anticipation burning inside me.  Eid is my favorite time of the year, and I am so excited for this Eid.  I listened to a lecture today by Anse Tamara Grey (the same one who made the feminism lecture I posted about a couple weeks ago) and she was talking about the sunnah traditions Prophet Muhammad (S) made on Eid, which just got me more excited.  Wearing nice clothes, going to Eid prayer and seeing my friends there, visiting relatives and taking part in our own family traditions.  I can’t wait!

I do have a few regrets though, of things I wanted to do this Ramadan but just didn’t get a chance to.  I wish I listened to more lectures.  I went to a couple talks and listened to two online, but I wish I did more.  There were so many days were I was just lying in bed, wasting time, when I could have been listening to some really good lectures.  Now in anticipation for Eid and trying to finish the Qur’an, I doubt I’ll have time before the month ends.  Of course I can still do it after Ramadan, but like everything else, the feeling won’t be there anymore.

I also didn’t volunteer nearly as much as I wanted to.  I think that one time I helped my grandma out at the mosque was the only time I volunteered.  Every year for as long as I can remember, I’ve gone at least once in Ramadan to some sort of soup kitchen or food-packing place to prepare meals for the less fortunate.  I had planned on doing that this year, but the event I wanted to go to was on the same day as the Qiyam, so I didn’t get to go.  It’s hard work, but such a good feeling to prepare food for those who can’t afford it while fasting myself and I totally missed it this year.  Next year inshaAllah…

There is one more goal that I didn’t mention before that I can still do in these last couple days.  I always make a point to donate some money during Ramadan.  My sister and I always have a collection that we put money into for infaq charity, but I want to actually send the money somewhere before the month ends.  I already know where I want to send it; it’s just a matter of doing it.  InshaAllah I’ll remember tomorrow or Wednesday to do it.

I got to the 30th juz in the English Qur’an today!  Today’s ayahs of the day are from Surah 81, Surah At-Takwir (“The Folding Up”).  The first half of the surah gives a vivid description of the Day of Judgement that I found captivating.  Ayahs 1-14 say:

“When the sun (with its spacious light) is folded up; when the stars fall, losing their glitter; when the mountains vanish (like a dream); when the she camels, ten months with young are left unattended; when the wild beasts are herded together (in human habitations); when the oceans boil over with a swell; when the souls are sorted out; when the female (infant), buried alive, is questioned for what crime she was killed; when the books of deeds are laid open; when the world on High (heavens) is made visible; when the fire of Hell is set to a fierce burn; and when the Garden (of the heavens) is brought near; (Then) shall each soul know what it has brought (forward for this Day).”

I’m not totally sure why, but upon reading this ayah I completely loved it.  It’s almost like seeing the Day of Judgement happen right before my eyes.  It lays everything out for us: what will happen to the earth, what kinds of truths will be revealed, and what homes are waiting for all of us.  It’s chilling, but it’s a reality that will one day come.

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

Day 27

Biryani made by my aunt! So good…mashaAllah

Leave a Reply

