Ramadan Log: Goal Count!

Just as a final note, I want to go over all of the goals I had this month and share how I did with each of them.  Here we go!

  1. Finish the Arabic Qur’an – DONE 🙂
  2. Finish the English Qur’an – DONE 🙂
  3. Donate money: DONE 🙂
  4. Listen to online lectures: DONE 🙂 I wish I listened to more though…
  5. No American music – I did pretty well I guess.  There were a few times where a song had just come out and I wanted to hear it once, so I did, and then I did listen to music whenever I was driving, but other than that I stayed pretty clean.  I never (except once for like 10 minutes) just put on music to drown out the silence like I normally do.
  6. No K-pop/music videos/K-pop blog/talk shows or reality shows/Korean dramas – I literally watched one show and a couple music videos, but that’s it.  Alhamdulillah, overall I was pretty diligent about this goal. (Although I did listen to K-pop whenever I exercised, but I consider that one an exception)
  7. No TV – I definitely watched less than I normally do, but I was nowhere near cutting it completely out. 😦
  8. No Youtube – This was the most difficult.  I watched a lot of videos about Islam (but I don’t count that as part of youtube).  I didn’t go from video to video, which is pretty good for me, and the videos I did watch were only ones that I really wanted to watch, but I definitely could have done better with this goal.
  9. Take part in some kind of food-packing –Not done 😦 Next year, inshaAllah.
  10. Re-memorize all of the 30th juz in the Qur’an – Not done 😦 Next year, inshaAllah.
  11. Pray all prayers on time: I only prayed Duhr late twice this Ramadan and aside from that, I didn’t miss a single one.  I cannot believe that.  I really struggle with praying my prayers on time, and I think this is the best I’ve ever done in one month.  Alhamdulillah.
  12. Cook a lot: I only was able to cook about half the recipes I wanted to.  So I guess that’s half success, half failure.
  13. Exercise every day: Another half success, half failure.  I had planned on doing a work out every night right after iftar/dinner, and I was actually pretty regular about it for the first half of the month, but in the end, I think I only worked out maybe twice in the second half of the month.  Exercising every day is a constant goal.
  14. Figure out a Suhoor plan: COMPLETE FAIL! All the way through the very last day of fasting, I was still scrambling to find something suitable to eat for suhoor.  I just could not get a regular meal going.

So overall, I guess I made a lot of progress, and I’m definitely happy about the Qur’an and praying that I did.  Those were the most important goals for me anyway.  The rest were good, but a little disappointing, but I am hopeful that next year I can do better.  I also want to get in the habit of praying Tahajjud every day next year.  I only decided to make that a goal on the 26th of Ramadan this year.  I also want to read through the books of Hadith next year since I finished the English Qur’an this year.

That suhoor though…I’m just happy I didn’t have to wake up and try to find something this morning.  I never know what to eat for suhoor that keeps me functional for the day but doesn’t give me a bloated stomach when I go back to sleep.

How did you guys do on your goals?  Let me know in the comments if you feel like sharing! 🙂

One thought on “Ramadan Log: Goal Count!

  1. chromseconds says:

    That was a long list of expectations. I don’t think your average person would have been able to do all that. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

