Ramadan Log DAY 4: Strange Cravings

What is the most random thing you have craved while fasting? For me, all day today I was dreaming of a Thai iced tea. I’ve only ever had them in actual Thai restaurants, and they are so good! The taste is like a mix between Indian Chai and a Starbucks Frappucino. Once Ramadan is over, I need to get me some Thai food.

Iftar being so late has actually been limiting me in a lot of unexpected ways. My family members are all early sleepers, so going to a restaurant at all this month is out of the question considering that it is around 9:30 p.m. by the time we actually eat dinner. I also haven’t been eating any ice cream, which is a big deal for me. Normally, I eat ice cream nearly every day as a late night snack, but with dinner being so late, there isn’t really any time for me to get hungry again before I go to sleep.

And I’ve really been craving some ice cream. Yesterday while we were out, we passed by a Baskin Robbins and since then I’ve been craving Baskin Robbins’ Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream. Yummm….

Unfortunately I still haven’t gotten around to cooking anything myself. I personally love cooking while fasting because it just builds my excitement for iftar at the end of the day so much more. I did finally consolidate the recipes I found from various books and websites and make somewhat of a plan for the next week or so. Now it’s just a matter of going to the grocery store and buying the right ingredients.

It’s only the fourth day, but it feels like it’s been a week. It feels like we are so far into Ramadan and I haven’t been productive at all. I haven’t cooked anything. I haven’t really made a whole lot of progress on the finding-other-things-to-do-besides-watch-kpop-videos goal.

I also still haven’t figured out what Islamic book I’m going to read in English. The book of Hadith didn’t really work out the way I wanted it to. I did read the first few pages of the English Qur’an, but I don’t want to just repeat exactly what I did last year. Currently, my new idea is reading a history of the Prophet (S) book. I found when I was reading the English Qur’an last year that I really liked reading stories of past prophets. Lately, every lecture I hear about stories of Prophet Muhammad (S) and the Sahaba (his first followers) I always find extremely interesting.

So, goals for tomorrow:

(1) Go grocery shopping.

(2) Make the first recipe on my list.

(3) Figure out which book to read.

I feel bad that I’ve gone three whole days without giving you all a quote or something interesting to read! Today, I’ll share one of the verses that I read a couple of days ago in the English translation of the Qur’an. It is from Surat Al-Baqara (Chapter 2, “The Cow”), verse 185, which is actually a perfect verse to start with this month:

“The month of Ramadan in which the Qur’an was revealed, a guidance for mankind, [a Book of] clear proofs of guidance and the criterion [distinguishing right from wrong]. Therefore whoever of you is present in that month let him fast; but he who is ill or on a journey shall fast [a same] number of days later on. God desires for you ease; He desires not hardship for you; and [He desires] that you should complete the period, and that you should magnify God for giving you His guidance, and that perhaps you will be thankful.”

God wants us to complete this month. He does not want to hinder us. What more encouragement could we ask for?

This also reminds me of something my grandma used to say all the time while she was battling leukemia: “God never gives us a test that we can’t pass.” She was actually quoting the Qur’an, Surat Al-Baqarah, verse 286. “God does not charge a soul with more than it can bare.”

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

Day 4.1

Chocolate Chip Cookie and Raspberry Danish for iftar

"Seven Layer Taco Dip That's Actually Only Five Layers" for dinner

Seven Layer Taco Dip (That Is Actually Only Five Layers) for dinner (store-bought)

Leave a Reply

