Ramadan Log DAY 15: Aching for My Fellow Humans

I probably shouldn’t have watched one of those videos of Palestine before writing this because now I’m just sad and depressed. May God please end the suffering there and bring justice to the people. May he keep us all safe from oppression. May he protect us from ever becoming oppressors. Ameen.

Hearing stories of people under oppression, whether it be in Palestine or North Korea or certain areas in Africa, I realize how much I have that I just take for granted: the safety to walk from the bus stop to my house, being able to trust (for the most part) that policemen are here to protect me and not hurt me or use me, not even knowing what it’s like to have my country “under attack” because the last time anything close to that happened, I was too young to be able to grasp what was going on.

It makes me sick to my stomach when I think about how my government has sworn to ensure that we American citizens never have to experience war right outside our own homes, yet they fund the same attack on other innocent people. I will always be an American at heart, but it hurts to wonder what other people think of us right now. I am so unbelievably thankful to have been born and raised in this country, and to live here right now in a safe neighborhood, but at the same time, I’m wondering what I ever did to deserve any of this blessing.

Even my section of Muhammad was sad today. The Muslims fought the Battle of Badr and won, which in theory is nice, except the following chapters highlighted the people who had died in battle. The real sad moment for me, however, was the death of Ruqayyah. No, she didn’t die in battle. Remember my quote yesterday, when Muhammad (S) had to leave her while she was sick to go to battle? Imagine going through that and then coming back to find your daughter has died while you were away. As the Muslims were returning from their victory at Badr, “Zayd and `Abd Allah ibn Rawahah had reached Medina and there was great rejoicing amongst all except the Jews and the hypocrites. But Zayd was given sad news in exchange for his good news: Ruqayyah was dead; `Uthman and Usamah had just returned from burying her” (Lings 152). I literally gasped in shock and just stared at the page in sad disbelief when I read those words.

How many of you knew as I was writing about how much I loved her yesterday that I would read about her death today?

On top of that, soon afterwards when another of Muhammad’s (S) daughters, Zaynab, was finally migrating to Medina from Mecca, and she was pregnant with her third child (after her second had died), she was attacked by surprise from the some people of the Quraysh still angry about the Badr loss. The fright caused her to later have a miscarriage. 😦

This is going to be a really strange analogy, but you Harry Potter fans will understand: After reading about Ruqayyah’s death and Zaynab’s miscarriage, I felt the same sadness as when I read (SPOILER) Dobby’s death in Deathly Hallows. They were just so nice to read about and then they are suddenly gone.

I never expected to become so attached the people in this book, but alhamdulillah, reading their stories has really made me love the Prophet (S) and his family and companions.

Gosh, this post was so negative. I’m sorry. Tomorrow is a new day, inshaAllah.

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

Chicken Makhani (Butter Chicken), Dill Rice, Spaghetti, and Salad. I'm forever grateful to the generous people of my Sunday class.

Chicken Makhani (Butter Chicken), Dill Rice, Spaghetti, and Salad. I’m forever grateful to the generous people of my Sunday class for providing such good food.

Red Velvet Cupcake, Fruit Tart, Brownie, and Chai (Indian Tea)

Red Velvet Cupcake, Fruit Tart, Brownie, and Chai (Indian Tea)

I really hope none of you are reading my blog as an example of healthy eating. Please don’t. I’m so unhealthy; it’s not funny. I just like taking pictures, and nothing looks nicer while fasting than food.

One thought on “Ramadan Log DAY 15: Aching for My Fellow Humans

  1. […] Source: Ramadan Log DAY 15: Aching for My Fellow Humans […]

Leave a Reply

