Ramadan Log DAY 21: Not Much to Report Today

I’ll be honest with you guys; it’s been getting harder and harder for me to think of things to blog about this month. It’s summer vacation. My days are pretty monotonous. I wake up, read, write, edit videos, pray…eat… with an occasional getting together with friends or random moments of emotional frustration.

I guess today was a little different. My aunt and uncle came over today. Interestingly, this is the first we’ve seen of them since the very first day of Ramadan. As they were here and we were talking, I was reminded of my first fast of the month. I was so out of it that day, not really paying attention to any of the conversations that were taking place because of my lack of energy. I hope they didn’t take it personally. Today was nice though. Fasting really hasn’t been that bad this month, alhamdulillah, so I was able to be pretty energetic and normal all the way until iftar. Part of that may also be me getting used to the feeling of being hungry and not letting it hold me back anymore.

Reading Qur’an has gotten easier too. I actually timed myself today, and it only took me about 15 minutes to read seven pages. I remember back in the beginning of the month it would take me almost a half hour. I love getting more and more fluid in reading Arabic. Even if I don’t understand all of the words, being able to recognize and pronounce an Arabic word almost as fast as I can with English or Spanish is a great feeling. I can’t wait until I can do that with Korean as well. I’m slowly getting there! (I love learning languages)

So…about my Muhammad quote…I only read a chapter of it today, and to be honest I didn’t really understand what was going on. I probably didn’t get enough sleep last night – actually I know I didn’t because I went to sleep after suhoor – so my mind was wandering like crazy while I was reading. Sorry! Maybe I’ll come up with two quotes tomorrow…

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

Bhajiya

Bhajiya (No idea how to describe what this is in English)

White Rice, Tomato Salan, Green Beans, and my grandma's special Kofta!

White Rice, Tomato Salan, Green Beans, and my grandma’s special Kofta!

In terms of food, today was a really good day. šŸ™‚ I finally made my bhajiya! Actually, my grandma made the mix and I just fried it. Dinner was also really nice. It’s been a while since I’ve had my grandma’s Indian food. I’m telling you, even though I was born and raised in America, Indian Kofta is the taste of my childhood!

2 thoughts on “Ramadan Log DAY 21: Not Much to Report Today

  1. fjr2014 says:

    Looks delicious. Happy ramaining of Ramadan. Blessings.

  2. […] Source: Ramadan Log DAY 21: Not Much to Report Today […]

Leave a Reply

