Ramadan Log DAY 23: I Belong in the Kitchen

So as I’ve been spending my days either reading Qur’an, sitting at my laptop, or out of the house, my poor room has been severely neglected. I spent a good portion of today cleaning my room and putting away half a months worth of laundry. I’m still not even done. My goal for this month was to finally go through and file away all of my school papers (from APRIL!) and of course I still haven’t gotten around to doing it. Interesting how we save things to do during Ramadan, the days where we supposedly have so much more time to do things, yet those things never get done.

For the past couple of weeks, I kept having deadlines to do things: make the Tasbeeh’s in time for the party, cook the chicken pastries before the ingredients go bad, edit a video for a mosque iftar. Since Thursday, I have just been reveling in not having something time-sensitive to do. It’s been a little strange though. All day I felt like I should have something that I should be doing (well, there are always things I should be doing…), and I kept feeling like I was forgetting something.

I was in the kitchen again today! Even though it was only for the half-hour before iftar, I loved it. Fasting or not, I absolutely love cooking. It’s fun for me, of course, but there is something about being able to create these tasty and beautiful dishes with my own hands that gives me such a sense of accomplishment.

It always pains me to see feminists talk down upon being in the kitchen and cooking for our families. I was once in a conversation with someone, and he spent the whole conversation trying to convince me that I don’t really want to be the type of wife who stays home and takes care of the house. He kept making it seem like my culture or my parents were pressuring me to feel like that was the type of life I needed to live as an adult, but that is so not the case. Cooking is beauty and creativity and innovation. We should not be downplaying it, or making a girl feel like she is conforming to a “bad” stereotype by wanting to cook for her family.

On that same note, I really admire women who are tailors. Tomorrow, inshaAllah, I’m going to be picking up some clothes that we gave to a family friend to tailor for us. Similar to cooking, I think the job of a tailor is amazing. This woman runs an entire business from her house. She creates beautiful, multi-colored dresses out of simple pieces of fabric. Anyone who criticizes women who have “traditional” jobs like cooking or sewing, saying that they aren’t living to their fullest potential or they are submitting to the will of a man or whatever feminists are talking about these days, should really take the perspective of women in these jobs. Sure, some women are barred from education and forced into domestic jobs, but those jobs do have value, and there are some women who genuinely like doing those things. Just as some men may seem “oppressive” in their perspective on what a woman “should” do, lately I’ve been seeing certain movements of feminism as just as equally “oppressive.”

Wow, that turned into a rant. I’m not sure if this idea of pushing women out of domestic jobs and into more business-like jobs is still prevalent (it’s actually been a while since I’ve personally heard it), but the idea has been out there, and it just annoys me to no end. Stop telling women what they “should” or “shouldn’t” do and just let her make her own choices.

My quote today from Martin Lings’s Muhammad comes from after the Battle of the Trench, when the Prophet (S) led his people back to Mecca for the annual pilgrimage. It put the Quraysh in an interesting dilemma:

“When Quraysh heard of the departure of the pilgrims from Medina, they were filled with misgivings… Never had they known a more serious dilemma. If they, the guardians of the sanctuary, were to hinder the approach of over a thousand Arab pilgrims to the Holy House, this would be a most flagrant violation of the laws on which all their own greatness was founded. One the other hand, if they allowed their enemies to enter Mecca in peace and comfort, it would be an immense moral triumph for Muhammad. The tidings of it would spread throughout Arabia and be on everybody’s lips; and it would serve to place the crown of defeat upon their own recent unsuccessful attack upon Medina. Perhaps worst of all, these pilgrims’ performances of the ancient rites would serve to make the new faith more attractive and to confirm its claim to be the religion of Abraham”

(Lings 248).

Lings began Muhammad describing the Quraysh, how they were among the most respected people in Arabia because they were the keepers of the Kabah. They took care of the sacred area and were known to be very welcoming and accommodating to all of the pilgrims who came for their pilgrimages. Throughout this entire ordeal with them so violently rejecting Muhammad (S) as a Messenger of God, their pride was always on the line. This dilemma that they faced with the Muslims coming back as pilgrims only demonstrates that even more. To them, it didn’t matter whether or not Muhammad was telling the truth; one of their fears was that people would realize that Islam really was the religion of Abraham. All they worried about was their pride, so much so that they were willing to break any good that they were known for just to stop Muhammad from completing his ritual.

That has been one of the most interesting things I have learned over the years about the Quraysh back then. It wasn’t so much that they believed Muhammad (S) was wrong. They were just too full of themselves to let him be right.

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

My beloved Bhajiya

My beloved Bhajiya

Rice and Spinach and Dill Salan given to us by a family friend and my grandma's Kofta

Rice and Spinach and Dill Salan given to us by a family friend and my grandma’s Kofta (blurry picture :/ )

3 thoughts on “Ramadan Log DAY 23: I Belong in the Kitchen

  1. Afreen says:

    Ramadan Mubarak
    I love your Daily Posts during Ramadan.

  2. […] Source: Ramadan Log DAY 23: I Belong in the Kitchen […]

Leave a Reply

