Ramadan Log DAY 24: The Language of God

I’ll try keeping this one short since tonight is the 25th, a possible Laylat Al-Qadr night.

You know it’s going to be a difficult day when you wake up in the morning already hungry. I suppose it has to happen to all of us at least once during the month. Alhamdulillah, I was able to attend a lecture today, but afterwards I was so tired and hungry that I spent the rest of the day in my room. It was leftover day anyway, so I didn’t need to cook or prepare anything for iftar.

It did serve as a nice way to slow down and give myself time to sit with the Qur’an and my Muhammad book. Sometimes all you have the energy to do is read Qur’an, which is not a waste of time at all. I reached the 23rd juz (out of 30) and got to read Surat Al-Yaseen (Chapter 37) after Fajr this morning. Only a week left until I will have completed the whole Qur’an, inshaAllah! After Asr today, I read Surat Al-Saffaat (Chapter 38, “The Rows of People”), which is one of those surahs where every ayah (verse) is no more than a line or half a line. Every time I get these little clues that I’m reaching the end, I just get more and more excited.

One of the things that the speaker at the lecture said today is that we as Muslims are so blessed that we have been taught the language of God. Every time I read the Arabic words of the Qur’an, I feel so thankful that I know how to pronounce and read the Arabic characters. SubhanAllah, once you learn Arabic, pronouncing the words is so simple and straightforward. It’s not like English where there are a million exceptions to the rules. Each letter is for the most part pronounced the exact same way in every word. The tajweed (a style of recitation) gets a little more complicated, but anyone can learn the basic sounds of the letters and be able to take part in the benefit of reading the Qur’an.

I’ll end today with a really cute story I read in Muhammad. One of the chapters I read focused on the Prophet (S) and his relationship with his wives. You’ve probably gathered by now that the stories concerning the Prophet (S) and his family life are always the ones that draw me in. This particular chapter actually focuses on the conflicts that occurred between the wives. A’isha was the youngest of the wives, and very quick to express her feelings; as Martin Lings describes, “Her feelings were always clear from her face, and nearly always from her tongue” (Lings 271). While the Prophet (S) treated them all with love and equability, naturally A’isha would sometimes feel jealous of the wives, and they would feel jealous of her.

Back when I first learned that this occurred in the household of the Prophet (S), it made me feel uneasy. Until then, I had imagined the lives of the Prophet (S) and his family to be perfect, at least emotionally. However, the more I read about him and them as human beings, the more I understand that it is natural that discord within the family can occur, and that shouldn’t take away from our admiration of the Prophet (S) and his family. How is he supposed to be an example for all of humanity if he never had the opportunity of demonstrating how to handle conflict?

Keeping that in mind, here is the story. Trust me, it will make you smile:

“Jealousy was inevitable in the Prophet’s household, and he did his best to make light of it. Once he came into a room where his wives and others of his family were assembled, and in his hand was an onyx necklace which had just been given to him. Holding it out to them he said: ‘I shall give this unto her whom I love best of all.’ Some of the wives began to whisper wryly to each other: ‘He will give it to the daughter of Abu Bakr [A’isha].’ But when he had kept them long enough in suspense, he called his little granddaughter Umamah to him and clasped it around her neck”

(Lings 273).

Let’s add this to the list of “Cute Stories They Don’t Teach in Sunday School,” shall we?

*IFTAR PICTURE OF THE DAY*

Leftover night! Rice and Kofta. Mmmmmm

Leftover night! Rice and Kofta. Mmmmmm

Just so you guys know, I don’t eat like this normally throughout the rest of the year. I’m all about the pizza and the sushi and the taco salad. Ramadan, however, is special. Ramadan is my Indian-food time. šŸ™‚

One thought on “Ramadan Log DAY 24: The Language of God

  1. […] Source: Ramadan Log DAY 24: The Language of God […]

Leave a Reply

