Blogging from A to Z Day 4: Dreams

D is for Dreams

D

Every time anyone mentions a dream they once had, I always find it funny how immediately afterwards, there is always someone in the conversation who will try to analyze what the dream meant. Does it bring to light a person’s subconscious attitudes or feelings? Does it foreshadow something that has yet to happen?

I don’t believe any of the predictive stuff. According to traditional Islamic scholars, only prophets of God can receive predictive visions in dreams, and since Muhammad (S) is the last of the prophets, no one living today would have a dream that predicts a future event.

As for all of the other meanings people try to derive from dreams, in my opinion, none of it is really true. When a person has a dream, rather than embody some subconscious emotion or evil thought, I think dreams are simply your imagination’s take on whatever thought was on your mind during the day. Rather than predictions of the future, I think dreams are what is presently on your mind.

I have noticed over the years that the types of dreams I have have changed. When I was younger, I used to have really exciting dreams. I would have fun, go on adventures, and really enjoy my dreams. Nowadays, when I do dream, they are all so boring. I have literally had dreams of going to work – something I already do in my waking hours. I guess that is just part of growing up. As you get older, your mind becomes less imaginative, and thus so would your dreams.

My only supernatural theory about dreams, a totally personal and subjective opinion: Maybe some dreams are God’s way of helping you work through a problem or him giving you an opportunity to explore the fantasies you never would in your conscious state.

One thought on “Blogging from A to Z Day 4: Dreams

  1. Arlee Bird says:

    I do feel that some dreams that I have had were possibly messages from God or at least inspired by my awareness of scriptural precepts. But as you’ve indicated, most dreams are mainly based on our thoughts and experiences of the day. My belief is that dreams essentially interpret or re-evaluate what our mind has taken in during the day and puts that information in context with our life in general.

    Arlee Bird
    A to Z Challenge Co-host
    A Faraway View A blog about dreams

Leave a Reply

