Blogging from A to Z Day 8: Health

H is for Health

H

I very much believe the mind-body-soul concept. If one side of the triangle is not being maintained, it can affect the other two sides. I already talked about the mind part a couple of posts ago, and today I want to talk about the body.

Too often I find that people seem to confuse beauty and health. Often when making lifestyle decisions, in aspects of health, they use beauty as a motive in changing their behavior.

A very current example of this in my own life is dieting and exercising. For the past maybe five years, I have made working out an important priority in my life. I can’t say I have kept up with my ideal work out schedule as well as I’d like, but it is always something I am working on. When I tell people that I try to work out every day, half the time I hear that I made a good decision, but the other half of the time I hear “Why? You don’t need it.”

To put this in perspective, my weight is right in the average area of women my height.

In another example, for years I have been aware of how my eating habits affect my health. I try to eat healthy, but that has been one giant failure after another. Part of the reason why eating healthy has become important to me is because I notoriously eat very unhealthy things. I also have a history of getting sick a lot. So, for the past few years, I have been talking to people and trying to get tips for eating healthier, simply to improve my health and quality of life.

When I tell people this, more often than not, I hear “You’re dieting? Why? You don’t need to!”

I try hard not to roll my eyes at this. I don’t diet. In my mind, dieting implies simply a reduction in food intake, which is not what I am trying to do. I am simply trying to eat healthier. Same amount of food. Better quality. Better for my body. Likewise, I am not working out to lose weight. Exercise does way more for your body than simply shave off a few pounds.

The reason why I work out and attempt to eat healthy food is because it is healthy. Regardless of your shape, size, or age, everyone needs to maintain their health. I get sick. I need to not get sick. I have low energy. I need to change that. My solution: eat proper foods and stay active.

Some people might describe me as “skinny,” however being “skinny,” if that is even what I am, is not a factor in my health decisions.

“Skinny” does not automatically mean healthy.

“Skinny” does not automatically mean healthy.

And because I know not everyone is going to get this, let me say it again:

“Skinny” does not automatically mean healthy.

I don’t even check my weight on a scale. I check how my body is feeling. I talk about my diet with a doctor. Based on that, I decide if I need to work out or change what I am eating. It has nothing to do with the size of my body.

It’s too late for me to tell those I grew up with to save me from the emotional turmoil of whether or not I should be healthy or skinny. This is for when I, and any of you, see other girls, and frankly boys too. Never tell them they don’t need to work out. Never tell them they don’t need to worry about what they are putting in their body. Everyone needs to be aware of these things.

Never teach them to associate beauty and value with health. Health is health.

5 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z Day 8: Health

  1. Trancify says:

    I like the focus on exercise and nutrition from a “Am I healthy” perspective. One thing I’d add is that sleep is just as important. Your body needs to rest and recover from the day to be ready for the next. If you don’t get sufficient sleep, one of the symptoms is illness. You mentioned you get sick a lot. Are you getting enough sleep?

  2. Julia says:

    I never would tell anyone what to do, but I know what worked for me was switching to a primarily vegan diet. I rarely eat bread these days, but I do have a couple of treats a week like cake. There are so many delicious fruits and veggies, and I find making smoothies is a great way to get full and have energy. There are also some great books out there on nutrition, so I am sure you will find something to your liking. I finally lost weight when I stopped eating bread, drinking soda, and meat, so this is what works for me. I also have a lot of energy this past year.

  3. I SO agree with you. Health should be the standard, not how fat or skinny you are.

    Good luck with the 2015 A to Z Challenge!
    A to Z Co-Host S. L. Hennessy
    http://pensuasion.blogspot.com

  4. Aamina says:

    Healthy is so the key word hear. I get it too “You’re so thin, you don’t need to workout or diet!” But that’s the thing. I don’t workout and diet. I eat healthy and don’t lead a sedentary lifestyle. That makes me feel sluggish and weighed down. I will also add that in agreement to the above comment, sleep is so important. i’ve noticed that when I eat, and sleep properly, my energy levels are so much better and I feel sick less. Check your sleep. If needed, have a sleep log in addition to a food log and exercise log. Once you write everything down and then look at the big picture, you begin to see trends that you can adjust.

  5. cleemckenzie says:

    Health is a huge motivator for me. I’d so much prefer spending my hours on a hike or working out with friends in the gym than in a doctor’s office. The side effect is exercise and good nutrition usually make you look a heck of a lot better, too.

Leave a Reply

