Blogging from A to Z Day 11: Kids

K is for Kids

K

Kids. They change you.

I have been surrounded by kids for my entire life, being the eldest of my siblings and my cousins. It has been an utter joy to watch each of them grow up. While when I was younger I played with them, for the past 6 years or so I have been more in the caretaker role. I have learned that taking care of kids and having someone see you as an adult really changes who you are.

Even though I am in my twenties, I still consider myself and my peers as kids. In one of my classes, my professor said as a passing comment, “You’re all grown adults,” and I tried to stop myself from laughing. When I think of myself and look around at my classmates, I consider us all kids.

However, once I am in a position of taking care of kids, I do feel like an adult. When I am tutoring or babysitting, I feel comfortable as the adult in the room.

I can only imagine what will happen when I one day have kids of my own, inshaAllah. I think that is probably when I will really feel like an adult.

3 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z Day 11: Kids

  1. Aamina says:

    Hahaha! I’m twice your age (almost) and I still feel like a kid. Even when I’m with my kids, I feel like a kid and I remind myself that I have to be an adult. 🙂

  2. allisonwrites93 says:

    I’m in my twenties and still feel like a kid, too! For a long time, I’d hear of my high school classmates having kids and be shocked, thinking they were too young! Even though they were 25 or so. But I have to say… I have a kid of my own and still feel like a kid! Or maybe I’m just immature, haha.

    – Allison
    http://www.allisonwrites.com

Leave a Reply

