Blogging from A to Z Day 15: Online Comments

O is for Online Comments

OIt is impossible to read anything related to Islam on a public online platform without encountering an absolutely disgusting comment section (except for this blog because you all are lovely 🙂 ).

Seriously though. Every time I read anything related to Islam online – on a non-Muslim platform I should add – if by chance I scroll down to the comments, I leave with a nasty feeling in the pit of my stomach.

It’s not even by one group of people. Of course there are the people with little information about Islam making presumptuous comments, but what sometimes what aggravates me more is seeing Muslims responding to the ignorant comments, with anger and emotion rather than information.

Are we incapable as humans of having calm discord online? Is it possible to avoid internet trolls? This sounds very “lost my faith in humanity,” but that is where I have come in regards to internet comments. When talking about God, or Muhammad (S) or atheism, or God-forbid anyone mentions the “I” or “P” words, I have yet to see people think before they press “post.” I have resorted to simply not looking at the comment sections anymore.


Short post for today and I was late again! 😥 I am so sorry. Today was rough. Actually, these past two weeks have been rough. I had a little moment of breakdown yesterday where I questioned all of my life choices and why in the world I decided to do a daily blogging challenge on two blogs during my last weeks of the busiest semester so far in college. But, I’m still here! Alive and well. Alhamdulillah.

For real though, this month getting really tiring. I think the worst is over now that I am finally finished with one of my bigger assignments. While I did prove to myself that I can in fact write a research paper, the process didn’t make me hate it any less.

2 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z Day 15: Online Comments

  1. […] Source: Blogging from A to Z Day 15: Online Comments […]

  2. Carrie-Anne says:

    Online comments are brutal, no matter what the issue. I’ve seen some articles linked to with the message, “Don’t read the comments.” Some people may be more emboldened on the Internet, but I’m sure some of these folks would say just as nasty things in person. I’m so glad I’ve been around Muslims just about my entire life, so I never had a reason to believe media stereotypes or ugly lies.

Leave a Reply

