Blogging from A to Z Day 16: It’s PERSONAL

P is for Personal

P

…As in, some things are personal. I try to be as truthful as possible about who I am online (and really in every situation), but there is a limit to what I can share. The purpose of this blog is to share with you all what I, an American-born Muslim, go through in my daily life, but at the same time I don’t want to reveal too much. Internet safety, right?

So, in trying to show everyone who I really am while still trying to keep my boundaries, how much should I really share? There are a lot of things I really want to express, but I’m afraid of sharing things that are too personal. How much is informative, and how much is too much that starts to stray into immodesty? Quoting my mom: The bigger the audience, the more careful you need to be. And the internet is as big as it gets.

For example, the perfect topic for “M” would have been marriage. That is something on the mind of virtually every Muslim girl my age, and it is something that would be pretty telling of where my mind is at right now. It is something that I, and so many girls my age, think about. All the time.

But that’s too personal for me to share to anonymous users of the internet.

My blogger friends, do any of you experience this? Moments where it may be really useful to share something about yourself on your blog, but then there is that voice at the back of your head that tells you that maybe this is something you should keep to yourself? How do you find a good balance?

5 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z Day 16: It’s PERSONAL

  1. learner99 says:

    Well if you want to share something personal like marriage, you can share it in third person, almost as if you are trying to teach everyone something so it’s less about you. But if it is something that will lead to immodesty then you should definitely keep it to yourself. Just an opinion.

  2. josna says:

    You make a very important point. When it’s personal, perhaps it’s best to share it IN PERSON, face-to-face with a dear friend. The Internet is seductive–the temptation is there to spill it all out and let it go where it will–but dangerous. Another ‘P’ word that we would do well to protect: Privacy.

  3. Carrie-Anne says:

    I was very open and honest about my religious and family background on my old Angelfire website, but I haven’t gone into any real detail about it on my current blog. I’m not afraid of what my regular readers would think, but I’m afraid of what my Orthodox friends who sometimes read my blog would think. I’d love to share more details of my religious journey and not have to be so vague, but I really want to leave things as they are and not open up any awkward or too-personal questions.

Leave a Reply

