Blogging from A to Z Day 19: Small Acts of Kindness

S is for Small Acts of Kindness

S

Small acts of kindness can do wonders for a person. I have been able to come home from genuinely horrible days with a smile on my face due to some small deed someone did for me. A couple of weeks ago, on a dragging Monday morning when I wanted to be anywhere except my university, another student totally went out of his way to hold open a door for me, and I couldn’t help but smile for the whole rest of the day.

When the person in front of me slows down to hold open the door, or when the lady at Starbucks wishes me a good day with a genuine smile, or when I run into another Hijabi who smiles at me despite us never having met before. It is moments like these that completely make my day and restore my faith in humanity. Small deeds are perfect examples of “think globally, act locally.” If we want to make a positive change in the world, it can start with simply being kind to each other. Once you improve the mood of another person, that person may improve the mood of another and so on until we get a chain reaction of kindness spreading all around us.

It doesn’t take a lot of effort. One small example that I have implemented in my life: No matter what my mood, who I’m with, or how crummy of a day I’ve had, I will always thank my bus driver. Just two words, that have the potential to make another person’s day worthwhile.

So let’s get the kindness started! What act of kindness have YOU received recently? Also, what small act are YOU intending to make a habit?

🙂

One thought on “Blogging from A to Z Day 19: Small Acts of Kindness

  1. Kayla Fash says:

    This is all so very true! I’m a stay at home mom so I don’t get out much, but I’ve noticed little things like having a genuine conversation with the cashier at the grocery store is enough to brighten someone’s day. It really is the little things and sometimes someone just needs a smile. Great reminder!

Leave a Reply

