Blogging from A to Z Day 20: Tenacity

T is for Tenacity

T

I have worked harder this year than any other time in my life. I made a goal at the beginning of the school year that I was really going to try hard in all of my classes, and that has proven to be tougher than I thought. But not unmanageable.

I wouldn’t say my grades always came easy for me, but in most classes I have been able to get by without putting in hours of work. With a few exceptions, I generally didn’t have to put in as much work as my fellow students to get a good enough grade, and I was able to rely on my previous good grades to make up for the moments when things got extremely difficult. Obviously this method didn’t get me straight As, but like I said, I got the grade that was good enough for me.

Now, however, rather than simply do the minimum and hope for that guaranteed “good enough” grade, I am trying to go above and beyond to make the most of my education: reading the entire article rather than just the intro and conclusion, getting ahead on my papers rather than leave them for the last minute, shoot for the A instead of the A- or the B+.

I’m not learning pointless trigonometry or chemistry anymore. I am learning counseling techniques, how to do real research, and how to speak a language. My classes are useful now for my future career and life, and I am really pushing myself to make the most of them.

It’s tough though. I’m tired, both physically and mentally. But I am proud of myself. Rather than simply try to make it to the next day, I am planning ahead and investing in my future. All of the effort I am putting in my undergrad is good practice for what I will have to do in grad school and eventually when working in the real world.

Finally, I am starting to get better in my work ethic. I’m not all the way there, but I am definitely much better than I was this time last year. Now I just need to get time management down.

Leave a Reply

