Blogging from A to Z Day 22: My Voice

V is for Voice

V

Every writer has a voice.

I’m not sure if I have one voice. I think I change depending on what I am writing. In fictional writing, I focus on the feelings of my characters, which may come from my psychology-inclined brain. When talking about music or movies, I talk with love. Someone once told me that I write with so much love when talking about K-pop. I wish I would write like that about other things too.

When talking about life, I feel like I always sound angry or as though I am ranting. Judging by the way I word some of my posts from this past month, you would think I’m a bitter, easily-irritated person, but that is not the case. I am happy a lot. I am thankful and grateful and I get full of wonder, however when talking about something as real as life, it gets hard for me to verbally express my happiness. It’s much easier to express anger or irritation. When I’m happy, I just feel happy. But when I’m angry, that’s when I get the motivation to write.

That doesn’t sit right with me. I shouldn’t only be motivated to write about something real (as opposed to music or celebrities) when I am irritated. Something about that just doesn’t sound right. But I guess it is what it is.

As Yu Hua says in China in Ten Words:

“Writing enables me to claim ownership of two lives, one imaginary and one real, and the relationship between them is like that between sickness and health: when one is strong, the other is bound to fall into decline. So, as my real life becomes more routine, my imaginary life is all the more brimming with incidents.”

Leave a Reply

