Blogging from A to Z Day 25: Yusufisms

Y is for Yusifisms

Y

After a month of serious topics, I wanted to end on a fun note. 🙂

Today’s post is dedicated to my adorable little cousin, Yusuf.

I am the oldest of my cousins and he is the youngest, but despite our 15 year age difference, we are pretty close. I have always loved playing with him, taking care of him, and just talking to him. I have so much love for all of my cousins, and him being the youngest, I have always had such a soft spot for him.

Sometimes, he says just the cutest things. For the past few years, I have kept a list of Yusufisms: all of the cute, innocent, and funny things he has said. Now that he is finally growing out of toddlerhood, it’s time I shared what I have collected.

Without further ado, here are my Yusufisms:


Age 4:

Yusuf: Everyone run for your life!

Me: Why?

Yusuf: Because I like running for my life!


Age 5:

Yusuf: (sitting in front of the TV) I’m watching football.

Me: Oh really? Who’s playing?

Yusuf: (points to the TV) A bunch of guys.


Age 4:

(while playing a video game, older sister threatens younger sister that she will take her controller away if she keeps messing up the game.)

Yusuf: Yeah! We’re gonna dead your control!


Age 4:

Yusuf: It’s time for pancakes time!


Age 4:

Yusuf: (while doing homework) What does “chair” mean?

Me: I don’t know. What do you think it means?

Yusuf: (after thinking) …You sit on it. You sit your butt on it. Like “sit on a chair.”


Age 5:

Yusuf: (while in the bathroom) I can’t say “Allah” in the bathroom because Shaytan likes it and I can’t listen to Shaytan!


Age 4:

(Yusuf tries to hit older cousin with a ball.)

Older Cousin: (blocks the ball) Not today!

Yusuf: (getting mad and trying to one-up him) Not today tomorrow after that!


Age 4:

Me: Did you take a bath or a shower?

Yusuf: I took a shower in the bathtub.


Age 4:

Older Cousin: You’re a baby.

Yusuf: No I’m 4!

Older Cousin: Yeah, but you’re still a baby.

Yusuf: (getting mad) No I’m 4 and my name is Yusuf!!


Age 4:

(Yusuf and older sister fighting)

Yusuf: You’re cheating! I’m gonna email all your friends not to play with you because you’re a cheater!


Age 4:

(Doing homework that requires him to write “yes” or “no”)

Yusuf: (groans) But “yes” is such a long word!


Age 4:

Yusuf: (showing me all of his pencils) This is our white colored pencil. It doesn’t work.


I’m really going to miss him at this age. He is growing up so fast.

Do you have any cute little ones around? What things do you catch them saying?

3 thoughts on “Blogging from A to Z Day 25: Yusufisms

  1. Trancify says:

    I love these, I almost fell over laughing in the bus on the white pencil one!

  2. A. says:

    You forgot one of my favs: “I used to do that when I was 5,” he says on his 6th bday.

  3. Aamina says:

    Dad: “you’re too young for that.”

    Yusuf: “No I’m not! I’m 6 you know! I lost a tooth!”

Leave a Reply

