Ramadan Log DAY 8: The Coffee Family

I feel like all I did was read today. Read Qur’an, read my Companions book, read a book from the library that’s been collecting dust on my desk, read other random stories online. It was nice, but I spent basically my whole day in bed.

On the plus side, I did manage to fit some adult work in there! Resume is officially updated. 🙂 This Ramadan is going to be my internal spiritual journey as well as my journey to an internship, inshaAllah.

I’ve noticed something funny about my family this Ramadan: we are totally a coffee family. We each have our own different hot drinks that we love, but in the end, we all like our coffee. Every night, after iftar and dinner, we each have been making our own special coffee drinks. I swear, my whole family is living off of decaf coffee this month.

I have to say though, I have really been missing my Starbucks. I hate saying out loud that I’m a Starbucks girl, but I guess I just have to face the truth. I was craving that Green Tea Latte like no other today.

So, books and coffee. Not much else to report. Today was pretty much a chill at home day. We could all use those every so often, especially during Ramadan.

*Quote of the Day*

Today’s quote actually goes along pretty well with yesterday’s. Today’s Sahaba and yesterday’s were both known for similar reasons. Today I read about Salim Mawla Abi Hudhayfah. Like Ubayy from yesterday, he was also among the people from whom the Messenger (S) encouraged the Muslims to learn Qur’an. He also was a man who held truth above all else. His description builds off of yesterday’s philosophy about keeping it real with your authority figures. The quote is taken from an occasion when Salim, who was formerly a slave, witnessed one of the Muslims, Khalid Ibn Al-Walid, kill another Muslim.

“Salim did not look upon Khalid as an abject slave would look upon a powerful Makkan nobleman. Not at all. Islam had placed them on equal footing. It was justice and truth that had to be defended. He did not look upon him as a leader whose mistakes were to be covered up or justified but rather as an equal partner in carrying out a responsibility and obligation. Neither did he come out in opposition to Khalid out of prejudice or passion, but out of sincere advice and mutual self-criticism which Islam has hallowed” (Hamid 74).

This is how things should be done. When advice and constructive criticism is needed, give it and be prepared to receive it.

3 thoughts on “Ramadan Log DAY 8: The Coffee Family

  1. tamtam012013 says:

    I have been missing my tea and hot chocolate like mad. I am working this Ramadan so have been avoiding tea for sleep reasons! But its finally the weekend SO I am having me a tea party today 😏 p.s. loving quote of the day.

  2. […] Source: Ramadan Log DAY 8: The Coffee Family […]

Leave a Reply

