Ramadan Log DAY 15: Random Thoughts While Fasting

Today was pretty much the epitome of what fasting during Ramadan is like for me. I woke up around noon, but I didn’t actually get out of my bed until…wait for it…4pm. And that was because I didn’t want to run the risk of missing Dhuhr. Dhuhr!

It’s crazy how fast time can fly by when you have a laptop. I was checking my social media sites, catching up on the latest videos by my Muslim YouTubers – the one part of YouTube I allow myself to watch during Ramadan – reading a story online that I have been absolutely hooked on, and writing.

I don’t know what I’m going to do once I get into the full-time working world and have to actually wake up early during Ramadan. Thank God for summer vacation.

I also really felt the hunger today, and I swear I was having the cravings of a pregnant woman. Red velvet cake, sugar cookies, bhajiya, lemonade, chicken chili, dill rice…the appetite you develop while fasting is crazy. My parents are both being very health-conscious this year, thus we haven’t been having any of those oily Ramadan staples at all this month. Bhajiya is one of my favorite parts of Ramadan, and I have not made it once. Surprisingly, I don’t miss it as much as I thought I would. Maybe it’s my own health concerns getting to me.

I was also having those completely random, out of context thoughts that you get while fasting:

I was explaining to my mom how the Korean alphabet is similar to Arabic in that all of the words are spelled phonetically without any real tricks. As I was doing so, I came to realize how lucky to have English as my native language. Of all of the languages to not have to “learn,” I lucked out in already knowing one of the hardest ones out there. So far I have been exposed to English, Spanish, Arabic, and Korean, and out of the four I think English is definitely the hardest. Somehow I was blessed to have English be the first language I develop, and in my experience, it just gets easier from there when it comes to other languages. Alhamdulillah.

For those of you who learned English as a second language, I am in awe of you. I have friends who learned how to fluently speak English in a matter of a couple of years, and I don’t know how they did it. English is tough, with all of our grammatical exceptions and nonsensical way of spelling things.

And there goes the linguist in me.

Another random thought, and an explanation of today’s picture: My family has started eating corn on the cob, and every single time I eat it, including tonight at iftar, I am reminded of my late Grandma. One of my favorite memories as a kid was sitting with her in her backyard peeling the husks off of dozens of ears of corn at one of our many family barbeques as we watch the sun go down. July 4th is coming up, and it always makes me nostalgic for those times.

*Quote of the Day*

 This quote doesn’t need a whole lot of explanation. My chapter was about Khabbab ibn Al-Aratt, an Arab slave who became one of the first ten Muslims of Islam. Years after accepting Islam, Khabbab actually became very wealthy, but at the same time very generous. I found one of his practices to be really sweet:

It is even said that he placed his dirhams and his dinars in a part of his house that was known to the poor and the needy. He did not secure this money in any way and those in need would come and take what they needed without seeking any permission or asking any questions” (Hamid 118-119).

This reminds me of a story I read within the last couple of years of families who were harassed by police for allowing homeless people to sleep on their porch. You know something is wrong with the world in which we live today when people are punished for being generous.

One thought on “Ramadan Log DAY 15: Random Thoughts While Fasting

  1. […] Source: Ramadan Log DAY 15: Random Thoughts While Fasting […]

Leave a Reply

