Ramadan Log DAY 16: Food Adventures

Food is so good. You know how I mentioned yesterday how I was missing my iftar treats? Well, I got them today, and now I remember my appreciation for food. There was so much sugar and unhealthiness going on, but after weeks of somewhat watching what I eat, it felt so good to finally indulge. My picture above is a beauty that my aunt found online (recipe HERE). We also made mango lassi, which from what I gather is the same as a mango shake but with yogurt instead of ice cream. That recipe can be found HERE, and I definitely recommend this one. It was so delicious and refreshing! (We used 3 actual mangos instead of the pulp that the recipe calls for.)

I said I would let you know how the moderate suhoors are going. Well, the reports are in: One egg and water is not enough for me. That’s what I had today and yesterday, and these past two days were my most difficult fasting days. I was already hungry for a meal by noon. The meat and bread was working really well though. I have some leftover chicken from dinner today, so I’m covered for tomorrow, but I’m not sure how long that will last. We don’t always have cooked meat around at suhoor time, so maybe I need to settle on something else as my go-to meal.

Today was alhamdulillah a great day. I spent the day at my aunt’s house, which is always a good time. In the morning we got some work done for our mosque. Once we were finished however, as I said, I was very hungry today, so for a good couple of hours my cousin and I were just lying on the couch, waiting for iftar.

I need to do something about this Qur’an goal. We are officially in the second half of the month, but I am still only about a third of the way through the Qur’an. I have been cutting short so much of my reading due to time and my lack of attention, and there have been a few times where I skipped reading altogether. I think the farther I get from realistically reaching my goal of finishing the whole thing, the harder it is to stay motivated and push through the 10 pages after each prayer. And 10 pages is still so much. I’m wondering if I should adjust my goal to 6 pages after each prayer and see where that gets me rather than try to finish a certain amount by the end of the month. I don’t know why it is such a struggle for me to stay motivated this year…

*Quote of the Day*

I finally read about another woman today! It is the Umm Al-Mu’miniin, Mother of the Believers: Umm Salamah. She had an eventful life, full of ups and downs. My favorite part of her story is when she married Prophet Muhammad (S). After her husband died, she was distraught, thinking there was no way she would find someone else as good a husband as him, Abu Salamah. When the Messenger (S) approached her for marriage, she had reservations, claiming that she was the jealous type, old in age, and a mother of young children, all traits she thought would deter the Messenger (S).

However, to her reservations he gave the following response:

“‘Regarding the jealousy you mentioned, I pray to Allah the Almighty to let it go away from you. Regarding the question of age you have mentioned, I am afflicted with the same problem as you. Regarding the dependent family you have mentioned, your family is my family.’

They were married and so it was that Allah answered the prayer of Umm Salamah and gave her better than Abu Salamah” (Hamid 138-139).

I live for these sweet stories of the Messenger (S) and his family. That “your family is my family” really got to me.

I really wish this book contained more women. It gets a bit monotonous reading about a bunch of men all the time.

One thought on “Ramadan Log DAY 16: Food Adventures

  1. desroef says:

    I would recommend the book “Woman around the messenger” by Muhammad Ali Qutb. Cause u mentioned that u didn’t want to hear about a bunch of men. Also thanks for the recipes! Might try them for iftar sometime.

Leave a Reply

