Ramadan Log DAY 18: Let It Be

Don’t let it get to me. Don’t let it get to me. Don’t let it get to me.

I found out today that multiple plans of mine are not working out the way I had expected, and I am trying really hard not to let it get to me. Usually I am a pretty easygoing person. When I am in the thick of things and something unexpected happens, I can adapt to the situation and work it out. However when it is in the planning stages of whatever I am doing and it looks like things will not work out the way I had been expecting, I get really stressed out. It’s the anticipation. I need to mentally prepare myself for things, and when that mental preparation gets interrupted, the disruption weighs me down.

But I have to keep reminding myself that God has a plan. He always has a plan and he will never put me through anything I can’t handle. So much of this life is just faith. Faith and trust in God. Thus far this hasn’t led me into trouble, so I have no reason to doubt Him. In these situations, I just take a deep breath and let God do his work.

Aside from that, I had a really nice day with some of my favorite people. In the afternoon we went to a food-packing event where we put lunch and gift bags together for the less fortunate, then we ended the day with a family iftar with my cousins. Pretty much an ideal Ramadan day, alhamdulillah. I can’t believe we’re getting close to the final ten days. If feels like Ramadan just started last week.

*Quote of the Day*

Today I was able to match a name with a story! Many of us are familiar with the Qur’anic verse: “He frowned and turned away when the blind man approached him,” taken from Surah 80, in reference to a time when Prophet Muhammad (S) frowned at a blind man who was asking him about Islam. (For those who aren’t familiar with the story, after this incident, verses were revealed in the Qur’an rebuking the Messenger (S) for his actions.) The man’s name was ‘Abdullah ibn Umm Maktum.

My quote for today showcases one of the things I love about Islam. With all of the rules and requirements, there is nearly always an alternative way of fulfilling God’s command for people in different living situations. Abdullah was blind, thus couldn’t lead as active of a life as the other Muslims. When the verses emphasizing the reward of Jihad were revealed, he prayed for God to reveal instructions for how the disabled can also receive reward. In response to this prayer, the following verse was revealed:

Not equal are those who remain inactive among the believers, except those who possess disabilities, and those who strive and fight in the way of God with their wealth and their persons…” (Hamid 145, quoting 4:95 of the Qur’an).

He really is a God for all people of all times 🙂 Sometimes, knowing that there is a being out there watching each and every one of us, taking care of us, and acting above human greed and selfishness can be the most comforting thought in the world.

2 thoughts on “Ramadan Log DAY 18: Let It Be

  1. iamuslimah says:

    Love your posts! JazakAllah khair for sharing what you learn. 🙂

  2. […] Source: Ramadan Log DAY 18: Let It Be […]

Leave a Reply

