Ramadan Log DAY 19: Forgetting to Cherish It

Graduating is such an odd thing. So far, I have had three graduations in my life: elementary school, middle school, and high school. Graduation for most people is a time of excitement and celebration, however for me it has always been more bittersweet and sad than happy. While others find excitement in anticipating new experiences in the next stages of their lives, I find comfort in familiarity. I remember being so sad during my final week of high school, to the point where I was almost in tears, at the thought of leaving my friends and the halls of my school that were filled with so many memories. I was afraid of college back then, and high school was all I knew.

Now I am getting close to my college graduation, and I’m not quite sure what I feel. I hadn’t really thought about it at all until today, when I finally stepped back on my university campus for the first time in months. Walking around campus and realizing that in less than a year, those buildings won’t be my school anymore, was surreal.

We were having somewhat of a reunion iftar with a bunch of the other Muslim girls from my university, and as I was talking to them, I realized that in less than a year, I won’t be seeing them around anymore either. Quite a few of them I actually met for the first time today, and now it’s like I already have my foot out the door getting ready to say goodbye.

But I don’t feel that sadness that I felt when graduating high school. I’m sure it will come, but at the moment everything is just passing over me. I think the reason is that with college graduation, we are all so busy with testing and applying for post-graduate programs and looking for jobs that there isn’t any time to get sentimental. We are all so stressed out that we don’t have any more room to get emotionally sad.

I remember how excited all of the seniors last year were about graduating, but it still hasn’t hit me yet that I will be one of them very shortly.

Yeah, it’s not Ramadan-related at all, but that’s just what I was thinking about today. Everyone I know is growing up so fast and our lives are changing so much. Sometimes I worry that I am going to be so caught up in everyone else’s changes that I will forget to keep up with my own life.

So…no quote today. My Companions chapter was really short and to be quite honest I was too tired to try to figure out how to talk about it in an inspiring way. Instead, I come today with a video. It’s short, only a little over 3 minutes, but it serves as a reminder of how important it is for families to pray together during Ramadan. Ramadan is the only month throughout the year that my family prays Fajr and Maghrib together in congregation every single day. I remember on the first day of Ramadan, I knew it was Ramadan when I heard my dad reciting Qur’an as he led my family in Maghrib prayer.

This year, for the first time ever, we have started praying Taraweeh prayers together every night. I am so happy that we are doing this. As my sister and I have gotten older and we are all separating to do our own things, praying in Ramadan is one of the only things that we all consistently do together as a family. Standing in prayer behind my dad is one of those Ramadan memories that will probably stay with me for the rest of my life, inshaAllah.


“The family that prays together stays together and the family that fasts together lasts together.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

