#AtoZChallenge Day 1: Allahu Akbar

A is for Allahu Akbar

A

الله أكبر = “allahu-akbar” = God is greater

This phrase, unfortunately like so many other words associated with my religion, has been hijacked. More than once, I have seen people online calling it a “war cry” and I just shake my head while debating whether I should laugh or gag.

Yes, some people shout it before killing. But did you know that we also say it at weddings?

Or when someone achieves some kind award?

Or at the end of a speech?

Did you know that every single Muslim who follows the five core acts of worship also says this phrase at least 94 OTHER times each day during their prayer?

Calling “Allahu Akbar” a war cry is just unfair and inaccurate. That’s like saying the president’s “God Bless America” is a war cry. Sure, he may say it after announcing some plan of his that could terrorize the lives of millions, but it is what he says after every speech he gives.

Same with “Allahu akbar.” It is the phrase we say in association with anything big that is happening. Just like “subhanAllah” is associated with being impressed or astonished and “alhamdulillah” is associated with moments of gratitude.

A few years ago, I listened to a talk by an Islamic scholar and he said something that gave me a new appreciation for this phrase: During prayer, each time we say “Allahu akbar” we should be signaled to pull away from whatever distracting thoughts we may be having. Every Muslim will tell you that it is so easy to get distracted during prayer. However, at each transition point in the prayer, it is customary to repeat the phrase “Allahu akbar.” At each of these points, we should remind ourselves that despite whatever may be on our minds at the moment, God is greater.

7 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge Day 1: Allahu Akbar

  1. Moony says:

    Ma Sha Allah, this was beautiful. Especially the part where it says that ‘Allah-hu-Akbar’ can be used as a point to pull our focus back to prayer, I will definitely be using it now onwards. Jazak Allah. 🙂

  2. Wonderful blog!! I’m excited to learn more about you and your beliefs. It’s tragic that the world so often likes to twist things that are sacred and beautiful. Happy A-Zing!

  3. aby says:

    Great post, I grew up in a Muslim family and do find myself repeating this great phrase several times a day to calm myself when in a panic about something.

  4. Deb says:

    I did not knoe all this. I did know it was definitely not a war cry…reporters and their minions are crazy. Glad to have learnt this.

  5. kborman says:

    I look forward to learning more. I dabbled in Islam at one point in my life and grew an appreciation for its beauty and simplicity. I hope others find your blog and learn a little too.

Leave a Reply

