#AtoZChallenge Day 3: Cursing

C is for Cursing

C

Cursing, cussing, swearing. Whatever you may call it, I don’t do it, or rather I can’t do it.

I just can’t say it. Not when I’m around other people.

Interestingly though, I’m fine swearing when I’m alone. As a kid, I heard the phrase “You never learn to swear until you learn how to drive.” I always found that to be the funniest concept – and one that was not applicable to me. Sure other people get frustrated when they drive, but I had a cool head. It wasn’t going to happen to me.

Not the case. Since I started working and needing to drive every day, I don’t even bat an eye anymore when I swear out loud at other drivers or my own mistakes.

That’s when I’m by myself in the car. Bring one other person in, and I can’t. It just doesn’t come out, and if it does – which I can’t even remember the last time it’s happened – I feel the epitome of uncomfortable.

Once back in high school, I was picked to read a passage of a book out loud. The part I was supposed to read contained the “F” word (see, I can’t even type it because I know other people will be reading this and they’ll imagine me saying it and I can’t have that) Since it was part of the book, I had to say it, and I did. Then of course, for the entire rest of the day, all of my friends wouldn’t stop talking about it.

“Did you know she swore in class today?” 

“No way, I can’t even imagine that.”

“WHAT! I missed it! Can you say it again for me?”

And not once did I repeat it. Because it just felt so uncomfortable. Those words were “bad” when I was little, and even now they still feel improper to say in public.

Now that I think about it, I have typed out curse words. However, I only do so in fictional writing. And I’m okay with that because it’s my characters saying those words. It’s still not me.

Is there anyone else in the world like this? Or am I the only one?

8 thoughts on “#AtoZChallenge Day 3: Cursing

  1. Umaima says:

    *Raises hand* Same here, Safiyyah! You’re not alone on this one. I really hate profanity. Not only is it obscene and offensive, it’s downright unnecessary. And it’s so commonplace now that people can’t even talk properly without having the need to cuss. Some think it’s cool to cuss, thanks to raps and pop songs that glamourise the usage of such words.

    I’ll be honest – I just don’t swear. I’ve just never done it. I feel that swearing is for those who are indecent and immoral. I’ve never liked it, never developed the habit. Those words just don’t come out of my mouth because I have strict principles when it comes to a lot of things, including the way I talk and what I talk. Even though I’m accustomed to hearing my classmates swear all the time, I have never felt the need to do it myself. When I get angry, I don’t resort to swearing. Yeah, I may give the person a piece of my mind and yell at them, but I never curse.

    I respect those who don’t swear and speak in a clean, respectful way. Most of all, I hate those who swear unnecessarily. I understand if it’s a really frustrating situation, but otherwise, I really hate it. One can easily get their words across without having to use cheap lingo. It’s so disheartening to see little kids nowadays picking up filthy words from their seniors or older siblings.

    If there’s one thing I can say with pride, it’s that I’m glad I’m not like all the others. 💪🏻😄 Glad to know you aren’t either!

  2. My dad was super strict with me about swearing so I just never got in the habit. I feel “wrong” most of the time if I do. He told me his mom used to tell him people only swear when they can’t think of the words they really want to say. I have to be honest though…I totally have alone in my car when I fear for my life at other people’s lack of driving skills!

  3. You’re not alone. We have never heard my father swear (who is in eighties,) not even concealing an almost cuss. He just doesn’t swear in front of people…or at least in front of women. I say women now because, just last year, a man told that he heard my dad swear…while he was driving. Nobody in my family believes it happened 🙂 …I’ve been known to swear like a sailor… maybe because I was a sailor once, but in certain situations I am very uncomfortable with any swearing at all.

  4. Paula says:

    There is a difference when profanity is used to make a point and when it literally is peppered throughout your conversation.

    Paula from
    Smidgen, Snippets, & Bits

  5. I have the opposite problem – I curse way too much in public. I know I do it. I’m totally conscious of how much I curse compared to all my friends. But I can’t seem to stop myself!

  6. cassmob says:

    I never swore as a young person but unfortunately I can no longer make that claim though my social situation does affect it.

  7. A.J. Sefton says:

    No, I don’t swear and I never heard my parents swear either. However, rumour had it that my dad did at work. I did dabble a bit as a teenager but now I notice how attractive it is in other people, so I am mindful.

    A-Z Challenge Dark History Blog No 1108

Leave a Reply

