Ramadan Log Day 5: Perfect Harmony

There is truly nothing like a day off to reward you for a long and difficult week of work. Everything about today was a 180 from yesterday. I switched up my suhoor routine – adding a little more protein – which made the fasting much easier than it had been thus far. I slept in and for once actually felt well-rested when I did get up. I got out of the house for something other than my job and had a really great time.

In the afternoon I was babysitting my cousin, which was such a refreshing change from the demands of the adult world. For a couple hours, I was able to abandon all thoughts of money and politics and driving and just live carefreely in the land of rolling around on the couch and making funny faces at each other. My cousin is a year and a half, and I am now finally getting to know her habits while she is finally starting to recognize me. It is such a gratifying feeling when a baby begins knowing you and gravitating towards you.

Then in the evening it was my turn to cook! If you’re familiar with this blog, you know that cooking iftar and dinner is one of my Ramadan musts. My mom and I agreed that if she took care of dinner during my working days, I would cover the weekends. Today I made one of my favorite dishes: Chicken Chili, one of the recipes I learned in an International Foods class in high school. It is an underrated joy to prepare a meal for those who are fasting. I loved being in the kitchen again – until I accidentally touched my eye after cutting chili peppers and experienced a pain unlike any other. It literally felt like my entire face was burning. I do not recommend trying it.

On to the quote. Today’s name of Allah is “Al-Baari” or “The Maker of Perfect Harmony.” This name refers to Allah’s ability to create things in harmony with themselves as well as everything around them. The author advises the reader to “see how everything in you is connected, working together, and how, when a part fails, all else is affected.”

Two thoughts come to mind here. The first thing that popped in my head upon reading this quote was the brain. Through my studies of psychology, I have always found it fascinating, and almost unbelievable, how incredible the human mind is at keeping track of literally everything going in within and surrounding our bodies. The idea that we can have these abstract things like thoughts and personalities somehow come out of a hunk of tissue sitting at the top of our bodies is unreal. The brain being able to control all bodily functions while also developing and producing nonphysical things like thoughts are precisely why God must exist. It takes something out of the realm of physics to create something so perfectly in sync.

Second, I really believe it’s a miracle of God how functional we Muslims are when we fast. If you think about how angry and agitated we become when we skip lunch or don’t have that morning cup of coffee, it makes no sense how normal we are after going over ten hours without anything to eat or drink. It’s God will at work.

One thought on “Ramadan Log Day 5: Perfect Harmony

  1. Umaima says:

    “The brain being able to control all bodily functions while also developing and producing nonphysical things like thoughts are precisely why God must exist. It takes something out of the realm of physics to create something so perfectly in sync.”
    Subhanallah, Allah is truly the Greatest. The brain is indeed one of the most beautiful examples of Allah’s perfection. I really love the way you’ve explained your two thoughts related to “Al Baari”.
    (And also, you’ve got only ten hours to fast! I have almost 16 hours! 😁)

Leave a Reply

